Conference Sponsors

The 43rd Annual Frontiers in Education Conference, sponsored by the IEEE Education Society, the IEEE Computer Society, and the ASEE Educational Research and Methods Division will be held on October 23-26, 2013 in Oklahoma City, OK at The Cox Convention Center.

The Frontiers in Education Conference (FIE) is one of the two major international engineering education conferences offered every year. Over 500 academic and industry representatives are expected at this conference. Participants will include university presidents, college deans, department chairpersons, faculty in engineering and engineering technology, and industry leaders from throughout the country and the world. The majority of the attendees, however, are engineering and engineering technology faculty.

Society Sponsors

American Society for Engineering
Education (ASEE)
Educational Research Methods
(ERM) Division
Institute of Electrical and
Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE Education Society
IEEE Computer Society

Academic Host Institution

The University of Oklahoma (OU) is a coeducational public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. The university was founded in 1890 and existed for 17 years before Oklahoma became a state. OU enrolls more than 30,000 students, has more than 2,600 full-time faculty members, and has 21 colleges offering 163 majors at the baccalaureate level, 157 majors at the master’s level, 81 majors at the doctoral level, 28 majors at the doctoral professional level, and 28 graduate certificates. 

The school is ranked first per capita among public universities in enrollment of National Merit Scholars and among the top ten in the graduation of Rhodes Scholars. PC Magazine and the Princeton Review rated it one of the "20 Most Wired Colleges" in 2008. 

The OU College of Engineering was formed in 1909 and recorded its first graduates in the spring of 1910. It is now the largest engineering program in Oklahoma, with 1,800 undergraduate students, 450 graduate students and a 115-member faculty.

OU is also well known for its athletic programs, winning seven NCAA Division I National Football Championships, playing in four BCS national championship games since the inception of the BCS system in 1998. Its baseball team has won 2 NCAA national championships, and the women's softball team won the national championship in 2000.